We provide fun, challenge and adventure to
over 400,000 girls and boys across the UK
a a a  A A
Member resources


In the United Kingdom, there are over 400,000 young people involved in Scouting, spread across five sections: Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts, Explorer Scouts and the Scout Network.

The kind of activity a Scout will do will depend on which section they belong to. Each section has a balanced programme with activities, badges and awards specific to the age range.

The sections

  • Beaver Scouts are 6-8
  • Cub Scouts are 8-10½
  • Scouts are 10½–14
  • Explorer Scouts are 14–18
  • Scout Network members are 18–25


© Copyright The Scout Association 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Numbers 306101 (England and Wales) and SC038437 (Scotland).
Registered address: The Scout Association, Gilwell Park, Chingford, London, England E4 7QW